President Buhari names train stations after Tinubu, Osinbajo, Soyinka

Buhari: names train stations after deserving Nigerians

Michael Adeshina

President Muhammadu Buhari has named railway stations along the Lagos-Ibadan and the Itakpe-Ajaokuta-Warri corridors after “deserving citizens.”

According to the president, this deserving Nigerians contributed to the progress and development of their respective communities and the nation at large.

This was contained in a statement by the Ministry of Transportation on Monday titled, ‘Buhari Names Railway Stations After Prominent Nigerians’.

In the statement, Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi confirmed that the Apapa Station has been named after the All Progressives Congress leader, Bola Tinubu; the Abeokuta Station named after respectable Nobel Laureate, Prof Wole Soyinka, while Kajola Station was conferred on Vice President Yemi Osinbajo.

The Ajaokuta Station was also conferred on Olusola Saraki, the late father of former Senate President, Bukola Saraki.

Also honoured were; Mobolaji Johnson (Ebute Metta Station), Babatunde Fashola (Agege Station), Lateef Jakande (Agbado Station), Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti (Papalanto Station), Segun Osoba (Olodo Station), and Micheal Ibru (Opara Station).

Others include; Ladoka Akintola (Omio-Adio Station), Obafemi Awolowo (Ibadan Station), Alex Ekwueme (Operation Control Centre), Adamu Attah (Itakpe Station), Augustus Aikhomu (Itogbo Station), George Innih (Agenebode Station), Anthony Enahoro (Uromi Station), Tom Ikimi (Ekehen Station), Samuel Ogbemudia (Igbanke Station), David Ejoor (Abraka Station), Alfred Rewane (Ujevwu Station) and Mike Akhigbe (Railway Village, Agbor).

However, this development followed the approval by Buhari on July 18, 2020, that the name of the railway station in Agbor, Delta State, be called Goodluck Jonathan Railway Station and Complex.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked*