Buhari, right, honours Goodluck Jonathan

Agbor Railway Complex, the operational hub of the Itakpe-Warri rail line will now be known as Goodluck Jonathan Railway Station & Complex

President Muhammadu Buhari approved the renaming, according to presidential aide, Tolu Ogunlesi.

The news was confirmed by Transport Minister, Rotimi Amaechi in another tweet:

The Itakpe-Warri rail line is 320km long and links Warri in Delta State to Ajaokuta in Kogi State. It passes through three states, Delta, Edo and Kogi.

READ ALSO  Agenda 2050: Buhari inaugurates National Steering Committee

Agbor, the hub is in Delta.

There are 12 stations between Itakpe, Ajaokuta, and Warri.

The stations are: Eganiy; Adobe; Itogbo; Agenebode; Uromi; Egehen; Igbanke; Agbor; Abraka; Okpara and Ujewu stations.

The rail line was built to move iron ore from mines around Itakpe to the steelworks at Ajaokuta, but was abandoned.