WurlD releases “AfroSoul” EP

WurlD's Afrosoul-EP Cover
WurlD’s Afrosoul-EP Cover

By Taiwo Okanlawon

Afro-soul singer and songwriter, Sodiq Onifade popularly known as WurlD has released his long-awaited EP entitled “Afrosoul”

The EP which features seven tracks such as ‘Love Nobody’ and ‘Ghost Town’, in addition to unreleased tracks wasa released on Friday.

“Love Nobody” was released on April 24. The official music video got premiered via YouTube’s Stay At Home program and the song was featured on an array of popular streaming playlists, including Apple Music’s ‘Hot Tracks’ and ‘New Music Daily’, Spotify’s ‘We Everywhere’, Pandora’s ‘New Afrobeats Now’, and more.

Following that, WurlD released “Ghost Town” on May 1, along with a COLORS session featuring a stripped-down version of “Ghost Town”.

Other tracks include ‘Story’, ‘Wayo’, ‘Can’t Come Outside’, ‘Birthday Song and Palmwine Riddim’, and ‘National Anthem’.

Afrosoul tracklist
AfroSoul Track list

WurlD began his career writing for notable artistes such as B.o.B., Trinidad James, Akon, Mario, and many more.

Born in Lagos, Nigeria, WurlD relocated to Atlanta, Georgia to pursue a secondary education and record music. He describes his style of music as electro-fusion.

In 2013, WurlD had released ‘Beyond Our Dreams’, his first single, from ‘Evolution’, his debut EP. The video for ‘Alive’, the project’s second single, would later be premiered on MTV.

In 2016, WurlD collaborated with Shizzi & Walshy Fire of Major Lazer to deliver the Afro-pop hit “Show You Off”, alongside the collaborative track with Sir Felix. He later released his Love Is Contagious EP in 2019.

WurlD also co-wrote the hit song “Blow My Mind” by Davido featuring Chris Brown and also released the critically acclaimed collaborative project ‘ILGWT’ (I Love Girls with Trobul) with award-winning Nigerian producer Sarz.

WurlD is one of PM News’ 20 artistes to look out for in 2020, and he did not disappoint.