Nancy Pelosi: names Trump impeachment managers

Speaker US House of Representatives Nancy Pelosi has named the impeachment managers to prosecute the case against President Trump in the Senate trial.

As expected she named seven members of her Democratic party.

House Intelligence Chairman Adam Schiff and Judiciary Chairman Jerry Nadler, who spearheaded the House’s impeachment hearings last year, were top of the picks .

Others are the chairs, Democratic Caucus Chair Hakeem Jeffries, Rep. Val Demmings, Rep. Sylvia Garcia, Rep. Jason Crow, and Rep. Zoe Lofgren will help prosecute the president.

On Tuesday, Pelosi issued a statement on the timing of the appointment of impeachment managers and the transmittal of articles of impeachment to the Senate:

READ ALSO  Mike Pence writes Pelosi: I can't remove Trump [Full letter]

“In December, the House upheld its Constitutional duty to defend democracy For The People: passing two articles of impeachment against President Donald Trump – abuse of power and obstruction of Congress. I am proud of the moral courage of Members to honor the vision of our Founders for a Republic, the sacrifice of our men and women in uniform to defend it and the aspirations of our children to live freely within it.

“The Senate GOP Leader has signed on to a dismissal resolution. A dismissal is a cover-up. The American people will fully understand the Senate’s move to begin the trial without witnesses and documents as a pure political cover-up. Leader McConnell and the President are afraid of more facts coming to light.

READ ALSO  U.S. House Speaker Pelosi wears same dress for Trump's two impeachments

“The American people deserve the truth, and the Constitution demands a trial. The House will now proceed with a vote on transmitting the articles of impeachment and naming impeachment managers on Wednesday, January 15.

“The President and the Senators will be held accountable”, she said