Governor Kayode Fayemi: his APC won all the council Chairmanship races

The Ekiti State Independent Electoral Commission (EKSIEC) on Sunday declared the candidates of the All Progressives Congress (NAN) winners of all the 16 Chairmanship seats in the local government election conducted on Saturday .

Chairman of the commission, Justice Jide Aladejana declared the results in Ado Ekiti.

However, results of the 177 councillorship seats were still being awaited.

Aladejana said contrary to reports, no death was recorded at any polling booth on Saturday.

” Nobody was killed at Ward 7 Unit 006 in Ikere on Saturday . Nobody was shot, though we heard that someone came violently and made away with unused ballot papers

READ ALSO  Gov Masari blames APC's enemies for troubles in North

” Even in the whole unit, there were just 280 registered voters and this does not in any way vitiate the outcome,” he said.

Describing the election as peaceful , Aladejana commended the security agencies in the state for ensuring that no one was intimidated during the poll.

Fourteen political parties participated in the election , including the APC and the opposition Peoples Democratic Party(PDP).

Meanwhile, the PDP in the state has rejected the outcome of the poll as announced by EKSIEC, describing it as concocted and unacceptable.

The Chairman of PDP in the state, Chief Gboyega Oguntuase, said PDP might head for the court.

READ ALSO  APC commiserates with victims of Abule Ado explosion

” From what we heard all over the state, the election was riddled with violence in most places, especially in Ikere Ekiti where one person was reportedly killed and about four others sustained injuries,” he said