The winner and runner-up of the 2017 Nigeria Women Premier League (NWPL) Super 4, holding from Sept. 11 to Sept. 16 in Edo are to receive 3 million and 2 million, respectively as prize money.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that Bayelsa Queens, Rivers Angels, Nasarawa Amazon and Delta Queens would compete in the round-robin event.

The 2016/2017 season, which comprises 15 teams, was divided into Group A and Group B, where the four clubs emerged as the top two clubs from the groups.

The Chair of the league, Aisha Falode, made the announcement at a news conference in Lagos to announce the draws for the competition.

Falode said that the 2016/2017 league season was a huge success, owing to the commitment and contribution of the clubs, referees, players and the media.

She added that NWPL would continue to collaborate with the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) to get a viable sponsor to run and sustain the profile of the league.

The chairwoman lauded the Edo Government for accepting to host the Super 4 tournament.

“The success and performance of teams this year is unprecedented in the annals of women football and we owe this to the respective clubs’ management, who have had to sacrifice personal effort.

“As a marked departure from the past when incessant walk-overs, non-honouring and outright abandonment of matches was the norm, we didn’t witness such this season.

“One of the successes of the season is the huge support we got from the media and the coverage was quite remarkable, thereby increasing spectators in match venues.’’

Falode, a member of the CAF Media Committee thanked the leadership of the NFF for supporting the league.

She appealed to club owners still owing players to pay up, adding that the league board would not tolerate such in the coming season.

READ: AFCON: Increase in participating countries’ number key for Africa’s football

The President of the NFF, Amaju Pinnick, who was also at the briefing, reiterated the body’s commitment to continuously supporting the women’s league.

Pinnick said that plans were on by CAF to organise a continental women clubs championship in the near future.

“The NFF is proud of the leadership of the stride and progress made by the leadership of the NWPL so far and it will not be out of place if Falode gets into any FIFA committee.

“Presently, Nigeria also plays an integral football politics in the world and we know football is a unifying symbol.

“We will not relent in our support for the women’s league and we want everybody to support us in making the league massive,’’ he said.

The Falode-led board was inaugurated earlier this year by the NFF to steer the affairs of the league till 2019.

The 2017 season kicked off on March 25, with the group A of the league, comprising Rivers Angels, COD Ladies, Bayelsa Queens, Ibom Angels, Heartland Queens and FC Robo.

Others are Sunshine Queens and Abia Angels.

Clubs in Group B are Delta Queens, Nasarawa Amazon, Osun Babes, Edo Queens, Adamawa Queens, Confluence Queens, Pelican Stars and Saadatu Kolo Amazons.