Malam Muhammad Bello, FCT Minister

Malam Muhammad Bello, FCT Minister

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), says 30 candidates are vying for the six chairmanship seats in the forthcoming Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Area Councils elections scheduled for March 19.

This is contained in a statement signed by the Secretary to the Commission, Augusta Ogakwu in Abuja on Friday.

According to the statement, 13 political parties would field candidates to contest the chairmanship seats in Abaji, Abuja Municipal Area Council (AMAC), Bwari, Gwagwalada, Kuje, and Kwali Area councils.

The political parties, according to the statement, include All Progressives Congress, Peoples Democratic Party, and Alliance Accord.

Others are All Progressives Grand Alliance, Citizens Popular Party, United Progressives Party and the Social Democratic Party, among others.

It added that the voter register for the polls was published and officially released to the political parties and contestants last week.