Damilola Agbajor, Winner, Miss Nigeria 2010

Damilola Agbajor, Winner, Miss Nigeria 2010

Organisers of Miss Nigeria beauty pageant have announced the 36 final contestants that will battle for the crown this year.

The 36 contestants are currently in The Making Of The Queen, a stage where they will undergo grooming and preparation for the role of Miss Nigeria. Eliminations will take place during this period as the number of contestants will be pruned to 21.

The 21 ladies will then go on to compete for the Miss Nigeria crown at the grand finale where a winner will be chosen based on elegance, poise, talent, intelligence and beauty.

Created in 1957, The Miss Nigeria beauty pageant has discovered and made beauty queens such as Grace Oyelude, Julie Coker, Helen Prest Ajayi, Binta Sukai, Vien Tetsola, Sylva Edem, Ene Lawani and Damilola Agbajor.  Now in its 38th edition, Miss Nigeria, a strong symbol of African culture and tradition is organised by the African Times Network.

Miss Nigeria 2013 is sponsored by Martini, Cool FM, Wazobia FM, Aero Contractor and Mud Cosmetics Nigeria.

—Edwin Usoboh