The 17th edition of the NIPOGA Games has ended in Ede, Osun State, with the Lagos State Polytechnic (LASPOTECH) winning the competition.

LASPOTECH which finished third at the games’ last edition won this edition with 18 gold, 17 silver and 25 bronze medals.

The Polytechnic Ibadan, which won the last edition of the games hosted by Nuhu Bamalli Polytechnic Zaria in 2010, finished second, winning 16 gold, eight silver and eight bronze medals.

The host institution, Polytechnic, Ede occupied the third position with 14 gold, 12 silver and 28 bronze medals.

Yaba College of Technology (YABATECH) got eight gold, 10 silver and 18 bronze medals to place fourth on the medal table.

The Federal Polytechnic Ado-Ekiti took the fifth position with seven gold, 11 silver and 19 bronze medals.

The host polytechnic won the male football final, defeating Nasarawa State Polytechnic, Lafia 4-2 on penalties.

LASPOTECH’s female football team also stunned Federal Polytechnic Nasarawa 2-0 to claim the gold medal.

In the female football final match, Odufuwa Olabisi who came in as a substitute scored the two goals for LASPOTECH in the 52nd and 69th minutes of play

Their coach, Olabisi Ogunbowale, attributed the team’s success and that of the whole contingent from LASPOTECH to proper planning and the support received from the school Rector, Dr Abdulazeez Lawal.

The Rector of the host institution, Dr Joseph Oke, commended all the participating schools’ athletes and officials for their peaceful conduct during the period.

He also described “Ede 2012” as very successful.

Gov. Rauf Aregbesola of Osun, who was represented at the closing ceremony by his Special Adviser on Sports and Youth Development, Mr Biyi Odunlade, called on youths to stay away from social vices.

He urged Nigerian youths to indulge in activities that would add value to their lives and promote peace and national integration.

Forty three polytechnics and Colleges of Technology across the country participated in the one-week event, with only 33 of them winning medals.