Governor, Patrick Ibrahim Yakowa of the People’s Democratic Party,PDP has been officially declared winner of the April 28 governorship election in Kaduna State state, northwest Nigeria.


The election which was keenly contested between the PDP and Congress for Progressive Change,CPC saw the incumbent , Yakowa emerging as winner with1,334,319 votes. His closest opponent, Haruna Saeed Kajuru of CPC polled 1,133,564 votes. The ACN candidate , Sani Mohammed Shaaban and ANPP candidate, Senator Mahammed Aruwa polled 20,094 and 33,142 votes respectively.


The returning officer and Vice Chancellor of Ahmadu Bello University ABU, Professor Abdullahi Mustapha having announced the results formally, declared Governor Yakowa as the winner.

Gov. Ibrahim Yakowa

Meanwhile Mohammed Shehu, the returning agent of the CPC candidate raised allegations of election irregularities and urged INEC to look into them.



He said the CPC will consider going to court to contest the results in the southern part of Kaduna where the governor hails from and Giwa local governor area.


Before the final results were announced at about 7pm on Friday, P.M.News observed that heavy security was deployed to flash points and major roads to contain possible post election violence in the state.

By Femi Adi/Kaduna