Chief Akin Babalola Odunsi, a veteran advertising practitioner and chairman of Rosabel, was among the three Action Congress of Nigeria candidates who won the three senatorial seats in Ogun State yesterday. The party also won three out of the four federal constituencies where elections took place yesterday.

In the Ogun Central Senatorial District, the AC candidate, Olugbenga Onaolapo Obadara scored 102,389 to defeat Sen. Iyabo Obasanjo Bello of the PDP who scored 56,312. Ijaduoye Monday of the PPN scored 27,183, while Lateef Monsoor Olaseyi of AD scored 913 votes to come fourth.

Odunsi won the Ogun West Senatorial District, with 61,362 votes to defeat the PDP candidate, Babatunde Fadun who scored 59,949.

The PPN candidate, Waliu Taiwo scored 45,246 to come third. The CPC candidate, Michael Olojo, scored 2,656 votes.

In Ogun East, Sefiu Gbenga Kaka, the AC candidate and former deputy governor scored 76,543 votes to defeat others. PDP candidate, Mohammed Odunowo came second with 52,613 votes while the PPN candidate Prince Abiodun Odusanya got 46,148. The Labour Party candidate, Olalekan Mustapha scored 8,762. The results of the Abeokuta South Federal constituency showed that the AC candidate, William Olusegun Samuel, won with 28,490 votes. The PDP candidate and current Speaker of the House of Representatives, Saburi Oladimeji Bankole, got 23,103 while the PPN candidate got 3,924. In Ado Odo Ota federal constituency, Babatunde Ogunola of the AC was elected with 19,890 votes while Fasiau Michael of the PDP scored 12,797. The PPN candidate, Hassan Olawale scored 11,885 votes. Labour Party candidate, Jimoh Ojugbele got 1,645 votes.

At the Ifo-Ewekoro federal constituency, the AC candidate, Adeyemi Adekunle was elected with 28,609 votes while Osunbiyi Abidemi of the PDP came second with 13,651. The PPN candidate, Obadina Bamidele got 8,372 votes. ANPP’s Akinfenwa Adewale got 511 votes.

At the Egbado North/Imeko-Afon federal constituency, the PPN candidate, Adewusi Tunde Razaq was elected member of the House of Representatives with 18,492 votes. He beat his AC rival, Adeluyi Akanbi who scored 17,383 votes. The PDP candidate Alexander Ajibade got 16,784 votes.

The INEC commissioner in the state, Deacon Martin Okunfolami commended his staff for their performance during the election and promised to sustain the momentum.

By Lanre Babalola/ abeokuta