The Senate President, Senator David Mark has once again won the  again the senate primaries for Benue South Senatorial District  after polling a total of  1680 votes to defeat General Lawrence Onoja,   his only opponent in the race, who had  317 votes .

Senator David Mark.

Similarly , one time National Chairman of PDP , Dr ( Engr.) Barnabas Gemade defeated three other aspirants who were in the race with him for the senate position of Benue North East. Among those defeated by Gemade , included,  the incumbent Senator represemting the senatorial are, Senator Joseph Akaagerger to emerge the party’s flag bearer.

PMNEWS findings shows that  the primaries was keenly contested with Sen. Jack Gyado polling  169 votes, Mathias Byuan polled 419 while Senator Akaagerger had 446 with Gemade coming tops with 457 votes.

Also at the Benue North West senatorial district, where the incumbent senator, former Governor George Akume had earlier withdrawn from participating in the race, Hon. Terngu Tsegba carried the day after beating, Mr Mike Mku,  one time Senior Special Assistant to President Olusegun Obasanjo on human trafficking   to emerge as the PDP candidate for the Benue North West  winner.

However, the primaries though commenced late in all the zones was conducted under a very tight security and in a peaceful manner even as screening of delegates did not start until about 6pm.

In Otukpo where PMNEWS monitored the election, actual voting started at exactly 8pm  with the two contestants, David Mark and Lawrence Onoja and all the special delegates casting their votes first.

Voting ended at about 1am  while the chairman, electoral panel in the Zone, Senator Godwin Okpe who was assisted bt Barr Jacob Ogwuche  commenced counting of votes and ended in the early hours of Saturday , when the result was announced with the Senate President emerging as the winner of the exercise.

Speaking with PMNEWS, shortly after casting his vote , the senate President , Senator Mark described the exercise as orderly, adding that the electorates will decide who to represent the zone at the upper legislative chamber

By Ubong George/Makurdi

  Copyright protected by Digiprove © 2011 P.M.News