2011 Polls: Commissioners Resign

Three serving commissioners in the administration of Governor Martin Elechi have resigned their appointments to prepare for the 2011 general elections.

They are Chief Sonni Ogbuoji, the Commissioner for Economic Empowerment and Poverty Reduction; Chief Ben Okah, Commerce and Industry; Chief Tobias Okwuru, Public Utility.

Ogbuoji is contesting for the Ebonyi South senatorial seat; Okah is going for the Ebonyi North senatorial position while Okwuru wants the Ezza North/Ikwo Federal Constituency seat.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the governor had on Friday directed political office holders and appointees to resign their appointments on or before Sunday.

NAN also learnt that Chief Moses Ogodo-Ali Nomeh, had resigned his appointment as a member of the Local Government Service Commission.

Ogbuoji, who is also the Ebonyi coordinator of the Goodluck/Sambo presidential ticket, said: “Gov. Elechi expressed surprise when I submitted my resignation letter.”

On his part, Okah said his resignation letter was submitted to the governor on Oct. 29.

  Copyright protected by Digiprove © 2010 P.M.News